Although his resounding win has been overshadowed by the continued Coronavirus crisis, in Keir Starmer the Labour Party finally have a credible Leader of the Opposition.

He has now named his Shadow Cabinet where, in Housing, the long-time Shadow Secretary of State for Housing, John Healey, was moved to Defence Secretary with Bristol MP Thangam Debbonaire becoming the new Shadow Housing Secretary.

TFA takes a look at what a Starmer government could look like for house building and planning.

Councils building again at scale –legislation to make it easier and cheaper for councils and development corporations to buy land for development.

Register of landlords and controls on rents – building 100,000 homes a year for social rent.

Estate regeneration schemes – new rules so that there would be no net reduction in the supply of social rented homes, and that estate residents should be balloted when their homes face demolition.

Ending of Right to Buy.

Affordable Housing – Starmer believes “a good rule of thumb” is that affordable should be based on households not spending more than 30% of net income on housing costs.

Green Belt – priority would be for new development on brownfield sites, but communities would have flexibility on the Green Belt “where there’s a clear need and local support for adjusting current Green Belt boundaries.”

Permitted development rights – would reverse these ending “a free-for-all which lets unscrupulous property developers to profit and deprives areas of employment spaces.”

Affordable Housing Contributions – removal of “loopholes” like the extension of permitted development rights and a more transparent process where councils “drive a hard bargain for their communities.”

Devolution – would like greater devolution and believes there’s is a strong case for devolution on housing given housing markets differ so much across the country.

Shadow Cabinet in full:

Keir Starmer, Leader of the Opposition

Angela Rayner, Deputy Leader and Chair of the Labour Party

Anneliese Dodds, Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer

Lisa Nandy, Shadow Foreign Secretary

Nick Thomas-Symonds, Shadow Home Secretary

Rachel Reeves, Shadow Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

David Lammy, Shadow Justice Secretary

John Healey, Shadow Defence Secretary

Ed Miliband, Shadow Business, Energy and Industrial Secretary

Emily Thornberry, Shadow International Trade Secretary

Jonathan Reynolds, Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary

Jonathan Ashworth, Shadow Secretary of State for Health and Social Care

Rebecca Long-Bailey, Shadow Education Secretary

Jo Stevens, Shadow Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Bridget Philipson, Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury

Luke Pollard, Shadow Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Secretary

Steve Reed, Shadow Communities and Local Government Secretary

Thangam Debbonaire, Shadow Housing Secretary

Jim McMahon, Shadow Transport Secretary

Preet Kaur Gill, Shadow International Development Secretary

Louise Haigh, Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary (interim)

Ian Murray, Shadow Scotland Secretary

Nia Griffith, Shadow Wales Secretary

Marsha de Cordova, Shadow Women and Equalities Secretary

Andy McDonald, Shadow Employment Rights and Protections Secretary

Rosena Allin-Khan, Shadow Minister for Mental Health

Cat Smith, Shadow Minister for Young People and Voter Engagement

Charles Falconer, Shadow Attorney General

Valerie Vaz, Shadow Leader of the House

Nick Brown, Opposition Chief Whip

Angela Smith, Shadow Leader of the Lords

Tommy McAvoy, Lords’ Opposition Chief Whip